Willie Wilson is hosting a 3rd time gas gift in Chicago, Suburbs Saturday morning

CHICAGO (WLS) – Chicago businessman Willie Wilson’s third million-dollar gas giveaway began at 7 a.m. Saturday morning at 27 gas stations across the city and suburbs.

This was the first giveaway since Governor JB Pritzker signed the state budget, which includes exemption from the state-wide gas tax.

The drivers were asked not to line up at the stations overnight. There was only one entry and exit point at each location in hopes of avoiding traffic problems.

Each car was allowed to fill up to $ 50 in gas, and stickers will be used to represent each position in the queue. Traffic assistants were on site to keep things going.

The free gas was expected to last about four to five hours at each station.

Chicago gas giveaway locations

Super Save, 48 E. Garfield Blvd.
Citgo, 1345 N. Pulaski Rd.
Super Save, 6659 S. Halsted St.
Super Save, 11100 S. State St.
Mobile, 2801 S. Pulaski Rd.
Mobile, 603 S. Independence Blvd.
BP, 7600 S. South Chicago
The Ruox, 7051 S. Western Ave.
BP, 101 N. Western Ave.
Clark, 1952 W. Garfield Blvd.

Amoco, 7201 N. Clark St.
Marathon, 340 Sacramento Blvd.
Shell, 5230 S. Western
Golo, 1958 W. 47th St.
BP, 5201 W. Jackson Blvd.
Amoco, 4402 W. Roosevelt Rd.

RELATED | Businessman Willie Wilson’s 2. Chicago gas giveaway smoother, but not without hiccups

Suburban areas for the Chicago gas giveaway

Evanston: Mobile, 1950 Green Bay Rd.
Maywood: Super Save, 101 W. Madison
Burbank: BP, 5149 W. 79th St.
Hillside: 4804 Butterfield Rd.
Calumet Park: Citgo, 11900 S. Marshfield Ave.

Cicero: Mobile, 5800 E. Cermak Rd.
Schiller Park: Phillips, 9340 Irving Park Rd.
University Park: BP, 450 S. Cicero
Berkeley: Shell, 5630 St. Charles
Oak Park: Shell, 6129 W. North Ave.
Northlake: Sav A Stop, 300 E. North Ave.

Wilson jumped into the mayoral race in 2023 on April 11 with a $ 5 million contribution to himself and an outburst of goodwill generated by his gas donations.

Three years ago, Wilson won 13 of 18 black divisions and finished in an overall fourth place with 10.6% of the vote. In the round, Lori Lightfoot won all of those departments – and all 50 departments across the city – after Wilson approved her over County Board President Toni Preckwinkle.

Wilson said Illinois drivers pay the second-highest tax at the pump in the country.

SE: Political analyst weighs in on Chicago gas aid

The state tax accounts for 39 cents per. gallon, the city adds 8 cents per gallon. gallon and Cook County add 6 cents, along with sales tax.

Sun-Times Media contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2022 WLS-TV. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.