Connect with us


Real Madrid wins the 35th La Liga title with a 4-0 win over Espanyol

It is Real’s second league title in three years, and a Carlo Ancelotti team has relatively easily claimed to have moved an unbeatable 18 points ahead of Barcelona – who have five games left to play this season.

Rodrygo scored twice in the first half before Marco Asensio and Karim Benzema added two more goals in the second half to complete a comfortable victory at the Estadio Santiago Bernabéu.

Real have now won 35 league titles – nine more than rival Barça – and that means Ancelotti has become the first manager to win the Premier League, Bundesliga, Serie A, Ligue 1 and La Liga in his coaching career.

“Celebrating with the fans is the best thing there is, the party is theirs,” defender Marcelo, now the most decorated player in Real’s history with 24 trophies, told Spanish TV station Movistar.

“This is the greatest joy a player can have by celebrating with their fans, a match at home … there is only joy.”

Real have been the dominant side in Spain this season – so far winning 25 league games and losing only three – with Benzema’s 42 goals in 42 games at the helm of that success.

Paris Saint-Germain defender Sergio Ramos passed on his congratulations to his former club, tweeting: “Congratulations, Real Madrid, on your 35th title!”

Real next meet Manchester City at the Bernabéu on Wednesday in the second round of the teams’ Champions League semi-final.

The draw will be fiercely contested after City won an entertaining first match in Manchester 4-3.

“I am proud [of the players]. I will continue to win titles with Real Madrid, “Ancelotti told Real Madrid TV.” Congratulations [to the players and fans], see you on Wednesday. I want to say this to the fans, on Wednesday we need this atmosphere. “

Spanish tennis star Nadal waves to fans in Madrid.

Ahead of Saturday’s match, tennis star Rafael Nadal also went on the field to take the honorable kickoff.

Nadal, a 21-time grand slam champion, is a huge Real Madrid fan and has been an honorary member of the club since 2011.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.