Leaked Need for Speed ​​Unbound screenshots reveal new art style

The first Need for Speed ​​Unbound screenshots have been leaked ahead of the game’s impending reveal.

The screenshots included in the tweet below were originally released by Japanese retailer Neowing.

They back up claims that the next installment in the series is called Need for Speed ​​Unbound, that it features a new art style, and that it will be released in December for the current generation of consoles.

Need for Speed ​​Hot Pursuit Remastered – Official Reveal Trailer

The game appears to feature a cross between polygonal cars and environments, and cel-shaded characters seemingly inspired by anime art styles

Electronic Arts is officially announcing the new Need for Speed ​​game on Thursday with a trailer premiering at 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 4:00pm BST.

Notice: To display this embedding, you must allow the use of functional cookies in Cookie preferences.

EA confirmed in May that the next Need for Speed ​​game would be released in the fourth quarter of 2022.

It has been claimed that the title will be set in a fictionalized version of Chicago called Lake Shore City.

A short gameplay clip of the title apparently leaked in August, showing a car crashing while trying to jump through an obstacle.

EA announced in February 2020 that it had returned Need for Speed ​​development duties to Criterion Games as it planned to restructure Ghost Games, which came up with the previous four entries in the racing series

Best known for the Burnout series, UK-based Criterion has also developed two previous Need for Speed ​​titles: 2010’s Hot Pursuit and 2012’s Most Wanted. It also contributed to 2013’s Need for Speed ​​Rivals.

Codemasters’ Cheshire team, the outfit behind Dirt 5, were integrated into Criterion earlier this year “to create the future of Need for Speed”.