Connect with us


276 politicians change party to contest 2022 Assembly polls: ADR report

Out of 276 candidates who changed party during the 2022 Assembly polls in five states, 27 percent left the BSP and 13 percent left Congress for other political clothing, the polling agency ADR said Tuesday.

The National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) analyzed the self-made statements of 276 candidates and 85 MLAs who changed party during 2017 to 2022 and challenged the polls in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur this year.

According to the report, (75 candidates) 27 percent left the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) to join another party during the recent parliamentary elections, while (37 candidates) 13 percent left Congress.

In the 2022 polls, 54 (20 percent) out of the 276 candidates joined the Samajwadi Party (SP) followed by 35 (13 percent) candidates who joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 31 (11 percent) candidates joined. BSP.

The highest number of MPs – 27 (32 percent) – left the BJP, while 24 (28 percent) MPs left Congress to contest the latest polls.

The report added that 32 (38 percent) out of 85 contesting MLAs joined the BJP followed by 19 (22 percent) MLAs who joined the SP and 9 (11 percent) MLAs joined the Congress .

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.